The spring is sprung

DSC_2345
Itchen Navigation near Brambridge

A friend has lent me his Nikon V1 camera, with the Nikkor 6.7–13mm lens, a wide angle zoom. (The 35mm equivalent focal length is 18–35mm.) I got the camera yesterday, and the weather was kind, with lovely sunshine and blue skies. So I trotted off along the Itchen Navigation here in southern Hampshire, like a child with a new toy. I didn’t take much more trouble than trying to frame my shots decently, though the one above has been tweaked just a little. I’m not going to try to compete with the serious camera review sites, but I do think the V1 has been reviewed rather ungenerously. In my short acquaintance with it so far, I’ve found it pleasantly simple to use, with a reassuringly solid build quality. In other words, running against the current trend of ever increasing complexity.

If you’d like to see some more photos, go here.

DSC_2331
Oh to be in England, now that April’s there
One thought on “The spring is sprung

  1. It is sure that you live in a beautiful part of the country. Possibly the best. But I wonder if the relative complexities of a DSLR, favoured by professionals, with it’s size, weight, and attachments, outweigh the admittedly more complicated bridge cameras, with their huge telescopic ranges in a single lens body permanently fixed to the camera body, often with no viewfinder at all.

Leave a Reply

